MURRAY, KY (NEWS FIRST) – Eighth-grader Faith McCafferty clinched the State Champion title in storytelling for the second consecutive year, leading the CCMS Speech Team to a remarkable 4th place finish in the state competition. McCafferty’s outstanding performance was complemented by the achievements of her teammates, with six Lakers securing spots as state finalists in their respective events.

Among the state finalists were Hayden Gilbert, who secured 2nd place in impromptu, and Liberty Fitch, placing 6th in oratory. Parker Morris showcased remarkable talent, earning 6th place in broadcasting and 5th place in duo acting alongside partner Kannon Bruce.

Several other team members advanced to the semi-final round, ranking within the top 12 in the state. Notable semi-finalists include Faith McCafferty in dramatic interpretation, Collin Naber in broadcasting, Tyler Saalwaechter in extemporaneous speaking and oratory, McKinley Marshall in extemporaneous speaking, and McKenna Hopgood in poetry. Additionally, the duo acting team of Charlotte Haws and Ava Moore, along with the improvisational duo team of Meghan Scott-Duncan and Emma Lanier, showcased impressive performances.

Quarter-finalists Collin Naber, Kensley Hutson, Ava Moore, Charlotte Haws, and Leah Hughes also contributed significantly to the team’s success.

The CCMS Speech Team’s achievements are a testament to their hard work and dedication, supported by coaches Jennifer Dunnaway, Scott Bonneau, and Kaydee Sevilla. Special recognition goes to Faith McCafferty, who was also honored as the recipient of the Blyton Book Award for her exceptional commitment to promoting speech within her school, community, and state.

Contributing to the team’s success were Jordyan Moats, Allyson Turner, Madelyn Tudor, Andrew Dunnaway, Lilah Hill, Patience Hunt, and Zoree Whitley.